Topstitch needles


I had always thought that topstitch needles were extra large and used for heavy threads – you know – for topstitching.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.  A topstitch needles almost looks the same as a regular needle but the parts that make a good needle have been made even better.  While these needles have been available for industrial and longarm quilting machines they were not available for the home market.  Superior Threads has now teamed up with Organ Needle Company to make Superior Titanium coated Topstitch needles for the home sewing machine.  I tried, I liked and I now carry them in my store!

Superior Topstitch Needle Diagram

The groove in these needles is wider and deeper and that allows the thread to tuck inside out of the way while the stitch is being made – less chance of the thread fraying.  The elongated oversized eye makes threading the needle a breeze and because of extra coating of titanium applied to the needle they will stay sharp 5 to 8 times longer than a regular sewing machine needle.

They are available in sizes 80/12, 90/14 and 100/16 to suit all of your sewing, embroidery and quilting needs.  Many thread issues can be solved by using the right needle and now the home sewer can have the right needle too!

I’m giving away 1 package of needles to 3 different readers that leave a comment on either why they like these needles or the reason(s) they think they had better try them!  Leave a comment below before June 15, 2010 and I will make a random drawing and pop them into the mail once I have the winners mailing address.

To learn more about these wonderful needles you can check them out in my shop.

7 thoughts on “Topstitch needles

  1. BCQuilter says:

    I’ve been meaning to ask, and now I have no excuse. Can I use these needles to stitch several layers of denim? You’ll know what I am talking about.

    To be honest I haven’t given the needle you gave me a tryout yet, well… that’s because I haven’t done any sewing/quilting in such a long time, I’m going through withdrawals… or would that be over-worked?

    I’m thinking your new needles will be good for me, especially with the thread fraying and breaking I’ve been experiencing… (I know, the thread is also contributing to the problem *grin*).

    -Alice

  2. I would love to try the needles. I am learning how important the needle type and needle size are when free motion quilting. It is just amazing what a difference it can make to the quality of your stitching.

  3. I tried some top stitch needles and I could tell the difference, so I would really like a pack of them. Maybe they are a different brand than what I bought, I don’t remember.

  4. TQG Nina says:

    Oh blush – could this be the same packet of needles that I got from you with the threads? mutter mutter where did I put them ?I want to use some rayon in this newest wall hanging and free motion – so better try them out. I know that I’ve had problems in the past and was putting off the free motion/rayon because of all the adjustments that I had to make. I’d love another pack.

  5. Cher says:

    I love these needles. It sure has made a huge difference when machine quilting. There were a couple of different threads that I had avoided because I just got frustrated trying to use them. The titanium needles have made a big difference and I love that they last longer and I’m not changing them as often.
    Cher in BC

Leave a Reply

