Summer vacations and quilting


I’ve been back just over a week now from three weeks on the road with my husband traveling through Idaho, Montana, Utah, Nevada, California, Oregon and Washington.  It originally started out as just a quick week long trip to Olympia Washington to participate in a long-arm quilting class I had signed up for with Sharon Schamber but we decided it had been too long since we had a “road trip” so we took some extra time, emptied the van so there would be lots of room for any treasures we may find and pulled out May 22.

After spending a few days with family and friends we crossed into Idaho on the 26th and headed for Salt Lake City, Utah with various stops along the way at antique stores, book shops and of course, quilt stores 🙂  We stopped in Salt Lake City to see Handi Quilter and even got a tour and a chance to play on the new 24″ Fusion machine.  Very nice.  They’ve put together a very good table and track system and the stitch regulator has also been upgraded.  Although very tempting I did not buy it but I did purchase the Studio Frame and I can honestly say it has made a world of difference to my quilting. Heavy, solid rollers, studier ratchet system and the fact that it comes with an adjustable height metal table sold it for me.  My quilts are loading much quicker and straighter now.

After Salt Lake City we stopped in St. George and visited with Superior Threads.  It was like being in a candy store with all those gorgeous threads!  And yes, the 21 new colours of King Tut are out and once again Superior Threads has done it.  Absolutely scrumptious!  Feel free to browse through all the colours but if you just want to see the new ones (my favourites are Obsidian #979 and Cobra #981) the new #’s are 900, 956-970, 979-981, 998 and 999.  Enjoy!

We found some great treasures including some old Dinky brand toy cars that my husband collects, pansy plates and tea cups that I collect and of course – fabric 🙂  After a couple of nights in Vegas (nope – didn’t win a thing and in fact have a nice little piece of paper that says the Tropicana owes me $0.02 that I use as a bookmark and cost us over

Two sexy bald guys at Universal Studios

Two sexy bald guys at Universal Studios

$100!)we headed into Los Angeles for a day at Universal Studios, then into San Francisco to cross the Golden Gate bridge

Golden Gate bridge

Golden Gate bridge

and over the the coast to follow the Pacific Hiway route north.  What stunning scenery!  Glad I was going North though and on the hill side not the water side!!

California/Oregon coast

California/Oregon coast

California/Oregon coast

California/Oregon coast

We arrived in Olympia the day before my class was to start.  I have to admit I was a little nervous. sharonschamber This would be my first class like this and I really didn’t know what to expect.  This class was “hands-on” and I lucked out and was able to work on the new Handi Quilter Fusion machine.  Sharon Schamber is a very insightful woman and able to make one feel at ease no matter what level of quilter they are.  She is an amazing artist and I learned a great deal from this class.  She shared some of her quilts with us and believe me when I say that pictures do NOT do them justice.  We all helped her unfold her quilts and draped them over a long-arm frame so see them.  You could have heard a pin drop when we unfolded “The Spirit of Mother Earth” and, yep, tears came to my eyes it was so beautifully done.  If you ever have the opportunity to attend one of her classes I heartily recommend it.

We had a great time all in all but it was good to get home.  We got right back into our house renovations the next day and then we set up my new frame.  Good thing we did because the during the first few days back I had 8 customer quilts dropped off.  Back to reality!

2 thoughts on “Summer vacations and quilting

  1. Shelley C says:

    Wow! What a wonderful opportunity that you can turn a week into three on the spur of the moment! Glad you had a wonderful time. I have been on that coastline myself 12 years ago and it is beautiful. We even had fireworks over the ocean to watch..it was great and so unlike anything I could ever see here in northern Maine. I’d like to see some pictures of your treasures 🙂

  2. Wow! That was quite the trip. I’d like to do that one day, maybe after I retire. It sounds like you had a wonderful time. I bet you were like a child in a candy store when you werre at Superior Threads. I read their blog and they sound so inviting. And I clicked on the link for Sharon Schamber and her quilts are gorgeous. Thanks for all the great pictures and I hope you post pictures of your finds also.

Leave a Reply

