Baby Honu quilt finished


As promised – here are the quilting designs I used for the quilt.  Here are the before and after of the complete top –

 

Baby Honu quilt. Pattern by Lisa Boyer

Baby Honu quilt. Pattern by Lisa Boyer

 

Baby Honu quilt finished

Baby Honu quilt finished

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The finished picture was taken at a bit of an angle – the quilt really is straight!

The water meander really makes the turtles look like they are marching across the quilt.  I’m glad I did the swirls in the snails trail blocks as it gives great movement to the quilting.  I used a small multi-use template for the curves but made each once different because so are ocean waves!

 

Baby Honu, waves

Baby Honu, waves

Baby Honu water meander

Baby Honu water meander

I tried to match up the water meander to the waves, not always successfully 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The water meander as a background fill really makes the legs, tail and head pop away from the quilt casting shadows and giving even more dimension to the quilt.

Each turtle was quilted based on the fabric.  The mottled fabric was quilted in a turtle shell type of design, the small circle fabric had pebbles and so on.

 

Turtle shell design 1

Turtle shell design 1

 

 

 

 

Turtle shell design 2

Turtle shell design 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The border was done much the same way as a feather border would be only I made seaweed instead.  I used chalk and marked the ‘corner blocks’ of the border to start.  I didn’t use the blocks themselves to divide up the length of border as they were too small, I simply chose a size pleasing to the eye.  The border width is then divided into thirds.  The wavy stem for the seaweed is chalked in the middle section.  Sounds pretty confusing – I think I’ll do a tutorial on how to mark this type of border!  The seaweed is very simple, just spaced ‘flames’ for the leaves with the odd little tendril placed to even out the leaves and get them pointed in the right direction again. 

 

Seaweed border

Seaweed border

Seaweed border, corner

Seaweed border, corner

I like how this quilt has turned out, hopefully, so will my customer!

10 thoughts on “Baby Honu quilt finished

  1. June says:

    I would love the pattern for the turtle quilt.. I think it looks adorable, I have a neice who I know would be thrilled with this quilt.. Could you email me, as to how I could get the pattern.. Thanks. I live in Edmonton AB, there might be a store near me or a site I could find it. I would appreciate it your answer…

    June Livingstone aka ElleMayple.

  2. Eleanor says:

    I am “the customer” and I love,love,love the way Shawn has quilted it! I have finished the binding and it looks awesome!

  3. KK says:

    Hi! I made the same quilt some years ago and then had it quilted by a longarmer as I didn’t have my machine then. I gave it to a nephew. I think I might have to make it again. Our guild’s quilt show always picks a charity to sponsor and we have a silent auction of quilted items. The charity next year is the Turtle Rescue Society (I love near the coast of SC). We have challenged our members to make turtle quilts for the auction. Baby Honus is perfect for that.

    You did a great job!! I’m headed over to the gallery at MQR next to see if you got your finished class project pics up.

  4. This quilt is a winner in every respect – pattern, fabric selection, piecing and quilting designs. I really hope the recipent appreciates what has been gifted to him/her.

Leave a Reply

