Choosing Quilt Design for Irish Chain


I played around today deciding on what quilt design I was going to use on the open areas.  I wanted to see what the design would look like on the quilt itself and I know that one can use plexi-glass or glass to lay on top the the quilt and draw on the glass but I don’t have any yet.  Necessity is the mother of all invention they say and so I used ‘Press & Seal’ food wrap.  Truthfully, I have 2 boxes that I keep in the studio!

 

Here are the three designs I came up with… 

 

3 design choices on Press & Seal

3 design choices on Press & Seal

Here is the Press and Seal with my chosen design.  I used a white board wet-erase pen but one has to be extremely careful not to go off the edge or you will have a mess.  I have ordered some 1/4″ glass that will fit between the rollers and I will wrap the edges in coloured tape.  Just a little tip I learned at LongArm University (www.http://www.longarmuniversity.com)

Design Choice

Design Choice

And here’s the stitch-out.  I went through a number of ideas for the actual chain area but decided on a simple leaf meander.  My client wanted a soft looking quilt so I’ve tried to match the thread as close as possible.  I’m using King Tut #951 Brooklet in the blue areas and King Tut #971 White Linen in for the diamond feather wreaths.  

 

Diamond Feather Wreath

Diamond Feather Wreath

Here is the pattern row complete…

 

 

Pattern Row Complete

Pattern Row Complete

Here are a few shots of the back of the quilt – always easier to see the quilting on the plain backing 😉

 

Back of First Patterned Row

Back of First Patterned Row

Close up of Diamond Feather Wreath

Close up of Diamond Feather Wreath

Close up of Leaf Meander

Close up of Leaf Meander

I’ll be spending the next few days finishing the quilt.  I’ll post completed pictures then 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Choosing Quilt Design for Irish Chain

  1. Timberlane Quilters' Guild says:

    Hi Shawn,
    Found your new location ! Now I’ll try to add you to our guild contact list.
    Sorry that the meeting last night was so busy that I could not chat.
    Hope to get acquainted shortly.
    Could you elaborate on the online course that you took?
    Nina Mussellam (I was sitting at the back handing out raffle tickets.)

    ps do you have a personal email address for guild notices?

Leave a Reply

